AFL 2 years ago

AFL tribunal won't sit as players accept

  • AFL tribunal won't sit as players accept

    SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 06: John Butcher of the Power and Sam Naismith of the Swans contest possesion during the round 20 AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Port Adelaide Power at Sydney Cricket Ground on August 6, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Nolan/Getty Images)

The AFL tribunal won't sit on Tuesday night after all players cited by the match review panel accepted their penalties.

Brisbane's Daniel Merrett was the only player to be slapped with a ban after round 23 - a two-match suspension for striking St Kilda's Shane Savage - but the 200-game veteran is now retired.

Five other players were handed fines, including Sydney ruckman Sam Naismith, who accepted a $1000 sanction for his bone-jarring tackle on Richmond's Bachar Houli.

You might also like

Naismith had faced a nervous wait after he lifted Houli off the ground and slammed him back-first into the turf in the second quarter of the Swans' 113-point belting of the Tigers at the SCG.

North Melbourne's Lindsay Thomas, Carlton's Jacob Weitering, Fremantle's Matt de Boer and Greater Western Sydney's Devon Smith all accepted fines.

Incidents involving Hawthorn's Josh Gibson and West Coast's Sharrod Wellingham were assessed and given the all-clear by the MRP.

0 0
please wait...